Valmiki Was A Liar Says Jain Ramayanam

Vimalasuri – Author of Jain Ramayanam Prakrit literature पउम चरियम् (पद्मचरितम् in Sanskrit), in verse form, is the ancient most Ramayanam composed in Jain literature. Vimalasuri is the composer of this poem. He is believed to have lived ~500 yrs after महावीर Mahavir (24th Tirthankar). Vimalasuri has chosen the word Padma पद्म and not RamContinue reading “Valmiki Was A Liar Says Jain Ramayanam”

Female Adultery In Parashara Smriti

In Indian civilization, female in each varna is responsible for producing pure lineage. Such a lineage is responsible to carry on the traditions of their respective varna in society. This way, society’s dharmic fabric remains unharmed as prescribed in various texts of Dharmashastra. Producing pure lineage is a responsibility and so Dharmashastra is very particular about the same. Authors of variousContinue reading “Female Adultery In Parashara Smriti”

Samrat Chandragupta (सम्राट चन्द्रगुप्त) – Historical Novel of Dhumketu

This historical novel – Samrat Chandragupta (सम्राट चन्द्रगुप्त) – is 3rd and last novel in the series of novels, on Chanakya-Chandragupta Maurya pair, written by Dhumketu. From the preceding two, first novel (Part 1) is – Mahamatya Chanakya (महामात्य चाणक्य). Analysis of the same can be read here. In Part 1, Chanakya’s journey from TakshashilaContinue reading “Samrat Chandragupta (सम्राट चन्द्रगुप्त) – Historical Novel of Dhumketu”

Antiquity of Kamasutra and Vatsyayana

In earlier article on kamashastra emphasis on importance of Kamasutra text as a shastra was provided. Vatsyayana’s Kamasutra is the oldest available text in the tradition of kamashastra. In the earlier article, the antiquity of the kamashastra and its author had not been discussed in detail which will be discussed in this part.  In thisContinue reading “Antiquity of Kamasutra and Vatsyayana”

Kamashastram – Origin, Purpose and Message

In Bharatiya Civilization, human life has been divided among four Purusharthas – Dharma, Artha, Kama and Moksha. Kama is the third while Moksha is the last and ultimate goal of the life. To understand Dharma, study of Dharmashastra textsare required. For Artha, Arthashastram and for Moksha, scriptures related to Moksha are required to be studied.Continue reading “Kamashastram – Origin, Purpose and Message”

Chandragupta Maurya – Historical Novel of Dhumketu

This novel – Chandragupta Maurya – is in continuation of the preceding novel – Mahamatya Chanakya (Book review can be read here). In preceding novel (Part 1), Chanakya’s journey from Takshashila to Pataliputra and return journey from there are covered. In between, readers get to know about Chanakya’s insult in court of Dhananand and hisContinue reading “Chandragupta Maurya – Historical Novel of Dhumketu”

Mahamatya Chanakya – Historical Novel of Dhumketu

Insult of Chanakya in the court of Dhananand is a turning point in Indian History. It was not an insult of one person but it was an insult of a Brahman … a traditional Brahman … whose only crime was to dream and try to build a strong nation based on foundation of Arthashastra. JustContinue reading “Mahamatya Chanakya – Historical Novel of Dhumketu”

कौटिलीय अर्थशास्त्र में वर्णित स्वधर्म संकल्पना

भारतीय समाज चार वर्णों में विभक्त है – ब्राह्मण, क्षत्रिय, वैश्य और शूद्र l मनुष्य का जीवन भी चार आश्रमों में विभक्त है – ब्रह्मचर्य, गृहस्थ, वानप्रस्थ और संन्यास। ये दो – वर्ण एवं आश्रम (वर्णाश्रम) – भारतीय समाज के आधार स्तम्भ हैं। शताब्दियों से वर्ण एवं आश्रम में बंधा हुआ भारतीय समाज प्राचीनतम सभ्यताओंContinue reading “कौटिलीय अर्थशास्त्र में वर्णित स्वधर्म संकल्पना”

Svadharma (स्वधर्म) In Kautilya’s Arthashastra

Introduction Indian society is composed of four वर्ण – ब्राह्मण, क्षत्रिय, वैश्य and शूद्र. Life span is distributed among four आश्रम (Stages of Life) – ब्रह्मचर्य, गृहस्थ, वानप्रस्थ and सन्न्यास. These two – वर्ण and आश्रम – forms the backbone of Indian society. Over the centuries, society wrapped in वर्ण and आश्रम has nurtured coreContinue reading “Svadharma (स्वधर्म) In Kautilya’s Arthashastra”

Arthashastra – Origin, Tradition and Veneration

नीतिशास्त्रामृतं धीमानर्थशास्त्रमहोदधेः l समुद्दध्रे नमस्तस्मै विष्णुगुप्ताय वेधसे ll (कामन्दकीय-नीतिसारः 1.6) [ Salutation to that wise Vishnugupt, who was proficient and also prudently collated the nectar in form of Niti-shastra from the big ocean of Artha-shastra ] – Kamandakiya–Nitisara 1.6 Human life is divided among four Purushartha – Dharma, Artha, Kama and Moksha. To understand Dharma, study of Dharmashastra texts is essential, For Kama, study of Kamashastra texts while for Moksha, study of texts related to Moksha is essential.Continue reading “Arthashastra – Origin, Tradition and Veneration”